leinsterfans.com: Supporting Leinster Rugby
skip to content
Subscribe to the RSS Feed for this page


Leinster Rugby vs Benetton Rugby
Guinness Pro14, Conference B, Round 20
RDS Arena, Dublin,
Saturday, 14th April 2018, 19:35

TV: Live on TG4

After comfortably taking care of Zebre last week in a scrappy game, Leinster take on the other Italian team Benetton this Saturday in their final regular season game at the RDS.

It's been a very good season for Benetton in the league and since Leinster beat them away 36-10 in early December they've won seven out of their last nine games. They've beaten some good teams this season including the Cheetahs, the Scarlets and Edinburgh and are no longer anyone's whipping boys.

Ian McKinley signed a new contract with Treviso earlier in the week and he would have loved to have started tomorrow evening but such has been the form of Tommaso Allan that he has to make do with a spot on the bench. It's a strong looking Bennetton team with Sebastian Negri, one of the stand-out flankers of the Six Nations, in the pack and the dangerous Monty Ioane on the wing.

For Leinster it's all change again with just four players retained from last week. There's good news on the injury front with Jordan Larmour, Noel Reid and Sean O'Brien all fit to start, while Joey Carbery makes his first start of the season at out-half. Max Deegan impressed last week and he's the only one to retain his jersey from last week in the pack and the team is led by Jack McGrath.

Benetton will likely prove to be tougher than normal but Leinster still should have a bit too much for them tomorrow evening.

Team Lineups

Leinster Rugby
Teams Jordan Larmour 15 Jayden Hayward
Fergus McFadden 14 Andrea Bronzini
Rory O'Loughlin
13 Tommaso Iannone
Noel Reid 12 Alberto Sgarbi (C)
Barry Daly 11 Monty Ioane
Joey Carbery 10 Tommaso Allan
Jamison Gibson-Park 9 Tito Tebaldi

Jack McGrath (C) 1 Federico Zani
Richardt Strauss 2 Luca Bigi
Andrew Porter 3 Simone Ferrari
Ross Molony 4 Marco Lazzaroni
Ian Nagle 5 Alessandro Zanni
Jordi Murphy 6 Federico Ruzza
Sean O'Brien 7 Sebastian Negri
Max Deegan 8 Nasi Manu

Replacements James Tracy 16 Engjel Makelara
Ed Byrne 17 Cherif Traore
Michael Bent 18 Tiziano Pasquali
Mick Kearney 19 Irne Herbst
Peadar Timmins 20
Marco Fuser
Nick McCarthy 21 Dean Budd
Ross Byrne 22 Ian McKinley
Adam Byrne 23 Tommaso Benvenuti

Not Considered
due to Injury
Tom Daly,
Josh van der Flier,
Robbie Henshaw,
Caelan Doris,
Cathal Marsh,
Will Connors,
Dave Kearney,
Jack Conan

Officials Referee: Ben Whitehouse (WRU)
Assistant Referees: Aled Evans (WRU), Johnny Peek (IRFU),
TMO: Jon Mason (WRU)

by Jim O'Connor, © 2018-04-13