leinsterfans.com: Supporting Leinster Rugby
skip to content
Subscribe to the RSS Feed for this page


Leinster (10) 26 - 15 (3) Scarlets
RDS Showground, Dublin
Friday, 4th March 2011, 19:35

Joe Schmidt had his favourite boot returned to him when Declan Kidney favoured a certain American born fellow for the Irish number 10 jersey. The RDS lovingly welcomed back Mr Sexton with open arms. Also returning to the fortress from international duty were McFadden and Leo Cullen. All welcome additions at any stage, although the Leinster cubs were beginning to make a name for themselves.

Leinster opened the scoring with Niall Morris, who profited from an excellent Nacewa kick and some hard work from McFadden. Sexton converted, and only moments later put Leinster 10-0 ahead after the St. Mary's man took advantage of a missed penalty from Rhys Priestland.

The penalties came then as the errors crept in. Priestland put his team on the board just before the closing of the half, but Sexton negated his efforts only moments into the second. The Scarlets were error strewn again as Leinster probed forward on attack, killing the ball within kickable distance for Sexton to put the Llanelli men 19-3 down.

Not to be upstaged though, the visitors held their heads high and continued to attack the Leinster defence. Some hard yards saw Rhys Thomas go over to score with Priestland converting. A deserved try from the pressure the Scarlets had been at times imposing on the home team.

More errors from the visitors saw Issac Boss plow over from a Leinster scrum at close distance, and despite a late score from Nick Reynolds the scoreline was somewhat flattering to the visiting team. No bonus point for the Blues, but the win sees Leinster sitting quite comfortable in third place in the Magners League.

Match Statistics

Leinster Rugby
26 - 15
Tries Morris,
Conversions Sexton (2)
Penalties Sexton (4)
Sin Bin     Maule (73)
Teams Isa Nacewa
15 Dan Newton
Niall Morris 14 George North
Eoin O'Malley 13 Regan King
Fergus McFadden
12 Gareth Maule
David Kearney
11 Joe Ajuwa
Jonathan Sexton
10 Rhys Priestland
Isaac Boss 9 Tavis Knoyle

Heinke van der Merwe 1 Rhodri Jones
Richardt Strauss
2 Rhys Lawrence
Stan Wright 3 Rhys Thomas
Leo Cullen (C)
4 Lou Reed
Devin Toner 5 Aaron Shingler
Kevin McLaughlin 6 Rob McCusker
Dominic Ryan
7 Josh Turnbull
Rhys Ruddock 8 Ben Morgan

Replacements Jason Harris-Wright 16 Kirby Myhill
Jack McGrath
17 Peter Edwards
Simon Shawe
18 Simon Gardiner
Nathan Hines
19 Damien Welch
Paul Ryan
20 Jonathan Edwards
Paul O'Donohoe 21 Gareth Davies
Ian Madigan 22 Daniel Evans
Daniel Riordan
23 Nic Reynolds

Not Considered
due to Injury
Rob Kearney,
Shane Horgan,
Shaun Berne,
Shane Jennings,
Stephen Keogh

David Lyons,
Andy Fenby,
Ken Owens,
Dominic Day
Officials Referee: Andy Macpherson (SRU)
Assistant Referees: Michael Black, Mark Hermin (both IRFU)
4th Official: Paul Haycock (Leinster Rugby Referees)
5th Official: Stephen McCann (Leinster Rugby Referees)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (IRFU)

by Patrick Fennelly, © 2011-03-11