leinsterfans.com: Supporting Leinster Rugby
skip to content
Subscribe to the RSS Feed for this page


Ulster Rugby 16 - 14 Leinster Rugby
Ravenhill, Belfast
Saturday 24th October 2009, 18:00

fter a stellar performance against Munster earlier in the year, the European champions failed to impress during their trip to Ravenhill for the second of the Irish Derbies. In front of a shivering crowd of 11,523, Leinster lost out to Ulster in a poor 16 - 14 defeat. Although tries from Berne and Fitzgerald left Leinster able to walk away with a bonus point, another strong performance from Ian Humphries and a try from Isaac Boss gave the Ulstermen the edge, putting them on top of the table with a one point lead over Leinster.

Despite having the wind at his back, Shaun Berne missed three penalties in the first half; he looked visibly disappointed as Humphries kicked against the wind to score three points following a yellow card for Jackman. Leinster responded with force with a powerful display from Brian O'Driscoll opening a gap for Berne to land a try, which he managed to convert with little difficulty.

With the wind behind him in the second half, Humphries took full advantage as he slotted home a penalty in the 46th minute. Some intense play from the men in white ended with Boss tearing down the side of the pitch to score a superb try. Humphries converted, putting them six points in the lead. Sexton, coming on to replace Berne, needed a big game to secure his position as heir to Ronan O'Gara, but unfortunately couldn't deliver after knocking the ball forward during the best try scoring opportunity of the night.

Humphries then kicked another penalty home a few minutes later to rub salt in the wound.

Although the match seemed over at this point, a brilliant injury time cross kick from Nacewa was caught and touched down over the line by Fitzgerald. Sexton converted to give Leinster a bonus point, a small consolation in an otherwise forgettable night.

Team Lineups

Ulster Rugby

Leinster Rugby
Teams Clinton Schifcofske 15 Rob Kearney
Timoci Nagusa 14 Girvan Dempsey
Darren Cave 13 Brian O'Driscoll (C)
Ian Whitten 12 Gordon D'Arcy
Andrew Trimble 11 Isa Nacewa
Ian Humphreys
10 Shaun Berne
Isaac Boss 9 Chris Keane

Tom Court
1 Ronan McCormack
Nigel Brady 2 Bernard Jackman
Brendon Botha 3 Mike Ross
Dan Tuohy 4 Devin Toner
Ryan Caldwell 5 Nathan Hines
Tamaiti Horua 6 Kevin McLaughlin
Willie Faloon
7 Sean O'Brien
Chris Henry (C) 8 Jamie Heaslip

Replacements Andy Kyriacou
16 John Fogarty
Bryan Young 17 CJ van der Linde
Ed O'Donoghue
18 Malcolm O'Kelly
Ed O'Donoghue 19 Stephen Keogh
Paul Marshall 20
Simon Keogh
Niall O'Connor 21 Jonathan Sexton
Simon Danielli 22 Luke Fitzgerald

Not Considered
due to Injury
Rory Best
David Pollock
Bryn Cunningham
Matt McCullough
TJ Anderson

Stan Wright
Eoin O'Malley
Trevor Hogan
Officials Referee: Andrew Small (RFU)
Assistant Referees: John Lacey (IRFU), Jude Quinn (IRFU)
TMO: John Carvill (IRFU)

by gfo, © 2009-10-27