leinsterfans.com: Supporting Leinster Rugby
skip to content
Subscribe to the RSS Feed for this page


Leinster Rugby A (12) 22 - 14 (14) Ulster Rugby A
Anglesea Road, Old Belvedere RFC
Att: N/A
Friday, 19 October 2007, 18:30

The first inter-provincial match of the new season took place in the grounds of Old Belvedere RFC where Leinster A played Ulster A. Leinster A were boasting a team made up of many players who had already featured in the Magners League for the first team this season and Ulster welcomed David Humphries back from the injury that had sidelined him this season.

Leinster started brightly and were in front inside 2 minutes. Both wingers were involved in the play with Felix Jones scoring a try following excellent work from Fionn Carr. Fergus Mc Fadden obliged with the extras.

UCD man McFadden put Leinster further ahead on the quarter hour. James Power made a surging run through the heart of the Ulster defence and passed to McFadden to score. Power assumed kicking duties for the conversion attempt but was unsuccessful.

Ulster were looking to get a foothold in the game and were trying to spread the ball wide. Having seemingly wasted an overlap, the referee signalled an offside from Leinster. As Ulster were trailing by two scores they declined the kick at goal and went for the lineout. Ulster secured possession and Simon Danielli crossed over for his new team in the corner. Humphries converted for an extra two points.

On twenty minutes Juan Francisco Gomez made good ground carrying the ball forward. Under pressure Ulster conceded a penalty and it was indicative of the attacking nature of the match that Leinster declined the kick at goal going instead for the lineout. As has so often been the case for Leinster in recent games the lineout went astray however and Ulster were able to steal the possession.

Ulster were playing attacking rugby and when they were awarded a penalty in the Leinster half they decided to run in favour of closing the gap. Both sides were declining kickable penalties in favour of higher risk rugby that resulted in no addition to the scoreboard.

Indiscipline from Leinster saw Jowitt and Sheahan yellow carded and while down to 13 men Leinster shipped another try just before half time. Kettlye chipped over the defence and raced through to just about touch the ball down. Humphries converted the try to give Ulster a narrow lead into the interval.

Leinster didn't have to wait long in the second half to retake the lead. After 2 minutes McFadden struck a penalty after Ulster had been adjudged to have gone over the top.

Leinster were continued to struggle in the lineout . Ulster enjoyed a period of pressure and Leinster saw sub Gavin O'Meara sent to the bin for killing the ball. Crucially however, where Leinster had conceded in the first half while men were in the bin, on this occasion they held Ulster at bay, Felix Jones in particular putting in some good hits.

Leinster sealed the win when they rolled up to the Ulster tryline and Conor McInerney muscled over. McFadden converted to leave Leinster eight clear. Ulster tried to respond but in truth looked tired and Leinster managed to keep them out for the entire second half to complete an impressive second half performance.

Match Stats
  Leinster Rugby A   Ulster Rugby A
Tries Felix Jones,
Fergus McFadden,
Conor McInerney
  Simon Danielli,
Mark Kettyle
Conversions McFadden (2)   Humphries (2)
Penalties McFadden    
Teams Ross McCarron 15 Mark Kettyle
Fionn Carr 14 Simon Danielli
Fergus McFadden 13 Darren Cave
Michael Berne 12 Seamus Mallon
Felix Jones 11 Paul McKenzie
James Power 10 David Humphreys
Chris Keane 9 Kieran Campbell
Cian Healey 1 Niall Conlon
Brian Blaney 2 Stuart Philpott
Juan Francisco Gomez 3 Declan Fitzpatrick
Devin Toner 4 Filo Paulo
Conor McInerney 5 Tim Barker
Cameron Jowitt 6 Thomas Anderson
Richie Leyden 7 David Pollock
Kevin Sheahan 8 Chris Henry
Replacements Richie Sweeney (for Blaney 74) 16 Simon Shawe
Paul Doran Jones (Healey 74) 17 Matt Miles
Ruaidhri Murphy (Gomez 74) 18 Willie Faloon
Gavin O'Meara (Jowitt 45) 19 Mark Robinson
Paul O'Donohoe (unused) 20 Sam McDonald
Shane Monahan (unused) 21 Paul Marshall
Vasily Artemiev (unused) 22 Kieran Hallett
Officials Referee: Ger English (Munster Branch)

by Sarah Lennon, © 2007-10-21