leinsterfans.com: Supporting Leinster Rugby
skip to content
Subscribe to the RSS Feed for this page


Cardiff Blues (8) 19 - 30 (11) Leinster Rugby
Cardiff Arms Park
Att: 5,991
Friday, 28 September 2007, 19:30

Leinster continued their great start to the season with a bonus point win in Cardiff. It was Cardiff's first home defeat after a record 17 game winning streak. Leinster took the lead when fly-half Johnny Sexton kicked a long-range penalty. Then Christian Warner put in Luke Fitzgerald for his first try of the night with a long cut-out pass. Sexton failed to convert the try and Cardiff hit back with a penalty from Nick Robinson. Then Ben Blair put Mark Lewis in at the corner to level the score at 8-8. Sexton restored Leinster's lead with another long-range penalty to make the half-time score 11-8.

Stephen Keogh replaced Kevin McLaughlin at half-time and helped the Leinster pack make an increased impression. Sexton kicked cross-field and Luke Fitzgerald waited to take the kick before beating two men to score in the corner. Sexton converted but Nick Robinson kicked two penalties to reduce Leinster's lead to 18-14. Then Leinster centre Fergus McFadden was sin-binned for killing the ball. Under pressure, hooker Bernard Jackman intercepted a loose pass and sprinted 50 yards up the field. He was brought down outside the twenty two, but the ball was recycled and Jamie Heaslip crossed the line to score. Sexton missed the conversion but made up for it by scoring a try near the corner, which he converted for a fifteen-point haul on the night. Prop Stanley Wright was then yellow-cared with time running out, but Tom James' late try was all Cardiff could manage.

Match Stats
  Cardiff Blues
vs Leinster Rugby
Tries Lewis
  Fitzgerald (2)
  Sexton (2)
Penalties Robinson (3)
   Sexton (2)
Teams Ben Blair
15 Rob Kearney
Jamie Roberts
14 Gary Brown
Tal Selley
13 Fergus McFadden
Dafydd Hewitt 12 Christian Warner
Tom James 11 Luke Fitzgerald
Nick Robinson 10 Jonathan Sexton
Jason Spice
9 Chris Whitaker
John Yapp 1 Stanley Wright
Gareth Williams
2 Bernard Jackman
Gary Powell
3 Stephen Knoop
Robert Sidoli
4 Trevor Hogan
Paul Tito
5 Leo Cullen (C)
Mark Lewis
6 Kevin McLaughlin
Robin Sowden-Taylor 7 Shane Jennings
Xavier Rush (C)
8 Jamie Heaslip
Replacements Scott Roberts
16 Brian Blaney (for Jackman, 71)
Ross Johnson 17 Juan Francisco Gomez (for Knoop, 53 - 57)
Bradley Davies (for Sidoli, 65)
18 Cameron Jowitt (for Hogan, 65)
Scott Morgan (for Lewis, 65)
19 Stephen Keogh (for McLaughlin, 40)
Richie Rees (for Spice, 69)
20 Keith Gleeson (for Jennings, 60)
Dai Flanagan (for Robinson, 66)
21 Cillian Willis
Tom Riley (for Riley, 20)
22 Ross McCarron (for Sexton, 77)

by Jim O'Connor, © 2007-10-11